N̲i̲c̲k̲ D̲rak̲e̲ F̲u̲l̲l Al̲b̲u̲m – Fi̲ve̲ Lea̲ve̲s L̲e̲ft̲ Al̲bu̲m̲

Five Leaves Left, Nick Drake’s first album, was recorded between July 1968 and June 1969 at Sound Techniques in London. The title is a reference to the old Rizla cigarette papers packet, which used to contain a printed note near the end saying “Only five leaves left” Reviews of the album in the months following its release were mixed and qualified as ‘interesting but…’ More than 20 years later in the 1990’s New Musical Express that at the time considered the album as “not nearly enough variety on this debut LP to make it entertaining” was awarded in a retrospective assessment by Len Brown in NME as “a masterpiece of English melancholy; a moving work that first revealed Drake’s remarkable talent to communicate his fears of passing light and life, with simple beauty; his skill to charge listeners with emotions equal to his own”

1. “Time Has Told Me” 4:27
2. “River Man” 4:21
3. “Three Hours” 6:16
4. “Way to Blue” 3:11
5. “Day Is Done” 2:29
Side B
6. “‘Cello Song” 4:49
7. “The Thoughts of Mary Jane” 3:22
8. “Man in a Shed” 3:55
9. “Fruit Tree” 4:50
10. “Saturday Sun” 4:03

Spread the love