We’re Only in It for the Money is the third studio album by American rock band the Mothers of Invention, released on March 4, 1968 by Verve Records. As with the band’s first two efforts, it is a concept album, and satirizes left- and right-wing politics, particularly the hippie subculture, as well as the Beatles’ album Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band.
Side oneNo. Title Length
1. “Are You Hung Up?” 1:23
2. “Who Needs the Peace Corps?” 2:34
3. “Concentration Moon” 2:22
4. “Mom & Dad” 2:16
5. “Telephone Conversation” (Included in “Bow Tie Daddy” on the original LP.) 0:48
6. “Bow Tie Daddy” 0:33
7. “Harry, You’re a Beast” 1:22
8. “What’s the Ugliest Part of Your Body?” 1:03
9. “Absolutely Free” 3:24
10. “Flower Punk” 3:03
11. “Hot Poop” 0:26
Total length: 19:14
Side twoNo. Title Length
1. “Nasal Retentive Calliope Music” 2:03
2. “Let’s Make the Water Turn Black” 2:01
3. “The Idiot Bastard Son” 3:18
4. “Lonely Little Girl” (Listed as “It’s His Voice on the Radio” on the original LP sleeve.) 1:09
5. “Take Your Clothes Off When You Dance” 1:35
6. “What’s the Ugliest Part of Your Body?” (Reprise) 0:57
7. “Mother People” 2:32
8. “The Chrome Plated Megaphone of Destiny” 6:25
Total length: 20:00 39:15

Spread the love