D̲eep P̲urple – S̲hade̲s of D̲eep P̲urple 1968

Shades of Deep Purple is the debut studio album by the English rock band Deep Purple. The album was not well received in the UK, where it sold very few copies and did not chart. In the US, on the other hand, it was a success and the single “Hush”, an energetic rock track written by Joe South and originally recorded by Billy Joe Royal, became very popular at the time,
Side one
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “And the Address” (instrumental) Ritchie Blackmore, Jon Lord 4:38
2. “Hush” Joe South 4:24
3. “One More Rainy Day” Lord, Rod Evans 3:40
4. “Prelude: Happiness/I’m So Glad” Blackmore, Evans, Lord, Ian Paice, Nick Simper/Skip James 7:19
Side two
No. Title Writer(s) Length
5. “Mandrake Root” Blackmore, Lord, Evans 6:09
6. “Help!” Lennon–McCartney 6:01
7. “Love Help Me” Blackmore, Evans 3:49
8. “Hey Joe” Billy Roberts 7:33

Spread the love